The Ultimate Managed Hosting Platform

Oyo State House of Assembly has approved the extension of the tenure of thirty-three (33) Chairmen of local government areas and thirty-five (35) Administrators of Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in the state.

oyo assembly2 e1473229349629 692x376 1

The tenure of the council bosses was extended for another six months.

The approval which was unanimously agreed upon by members of the house was sequel to a letter from Governor Seyi Makinde requesting for a tenure extension for the Council bosses. The house approved the appointment of all the 68 Caretaker Chairmen and Administrators on the 19th of December 2019. With this approval, their tenure will now end on the 19th of December, 2020

Speaker of the Assembly, Adebo Ogundoyin explain that the extension was to avoid any vacuum in the administration of the local councils in Oyo State.

Chairman House Committee on Local Government Matters, Hon Ademola Popoola, who read the committee’s report on financial activities of the LGAs and LCDAs in the last six months said the Caretaker chairmen and the Sole Administrators had done well to deserve the tenure extension.

Popoola in the report urged the house to direct the LGAs and LCDAs to forward their proposed list of projects to the House for approval in line with section 19 (2) and (3) of the Local Government Law, 2001.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here